IIR Scientific Awards

There's still time to apply!

Once every 4 years during each International Congress of Refrigeration, the IIR presents a series of prestigious scientific awards:

  • Gustav Lorentzen Medal: The prize is awarded to a person with outstanding and original achievements in academic or industrial research, innovation or development, in all fields of refrigeration, thus promoting creativity and renewal in the fields of expertise of the IIR.
  • Science & Technology Medal: The medal is awarded for outstanding achievements over an extended period of time in science and/or technology in one of the fields of competence of the IIR.
  • Young Researchers Awards:These prizes are awarded for outstanding research work (thesis, dissertation, or various shorter publications of similar importance, if taken together) performed by young researchers on subjects in the domain of competence of the IIR. The candidate shall be 35 years old or younger on the date of conferring of the award.

Young Researchers Awards are awarded by the Science and Technology Council in the following areas:

  • Peter Kapitza Award: Cryophysics
  • Carl von Linde Award: Cryogenic Engineering
  • Sadi Carnot Award: Thermodynamics
  • James Joule Award: Systems and Equipment for Refrigeration
  • Alexis Carrel Award: Cryobiology, Cryomedicine
  • Clarence Birdseye Award: Food Science and Engineering
  • James Harrison Award: Refrigerated Storage and Transport
  • Willis H. Carrier Award: Air Conditioning and Heat Pumps

The IIR is delighted to be able to provide recognition for outstanding contributions to refrigeration.

Deadline:  March 31st, 2014

Download application forms (Word format) for awards to be presented during the 24th IIR International Congress of Refrigeration to be held in Yokohama, Japan, in August 2015.