Brief: Dr Peter Egolf

Dr Peter Egolf, President of the IIR's Working Party on Magnetic Refrigeration, and his team at the Institut de Génie Thermique de l'Ecole d'ingénieurs du Canton de Vaud has won the Prix Spécial Energie awarded by the Office Fédéral de l'Energie (OFEN) within the framework of the Swiss Technology Award presented in January 2006. The team designed an environmentally friendly magnetic household refrigerator and plan to develop building and vehicle air-conditioning, industrial-refrigeration and heat-pump systems employing magnetic technology.