Discover the winners announced of the IIR Young Researchers’ Awards 2023

Every four years at its Congress, the IIR offers a series of Young Researchers’ Awards to pay tribute to the work carried out by young researchers in the field of refrigeration. Discover this year’s winners!

The IIR is delighted to announce the winners of its Young Researchers’ Awards.

To be presented this year during the 26th IIR International Congress of Refrigeration (ICR2023) in August in Paris (France), for this edition, the IIR received a record-breaking 37 applications from 15 countries for all of its awards.


Discover the winners


These prizes, seven in all, are awarded for outstanding research work carried out by young researchers on subjects in the domains of competence of the IIR. For ICR 2023, the laureates are:

  • Clarence Birdseye Award – Jamal Olatunji (New Zealand)
  • Sadi Carnot Award – Jingyuan Xu (China)
  • Willis H. Carrier Award – Alice Mugnini (Italy)
  • James Harrison Award – Francesco Fabris (Italy)
  • James Joule Award – Jun Li (China)
  • Peter Kapitza Award – Yuan Tang (China)
  • Carl von Linde Award – Jianye Chen (China)


The IIR would like to thank all those who sent in an application, acted as a sponsor or evaluated the many submissions received for these awards.


We look forward to seeing you at the 26th IIR International Congress of Refrigeration (ICR 2023) in Paris (France) on August 21-25, 2023!


Early Bird Registration ends June 1!
Register today!



Discounts on registration fees to the Congress for IIR members. The reduction may cover the cost of one year membership fee. Find out more.